Yesterday’s Series

The ‘Yesterday’s’ series of books, based on counties or subjects, currently runs to 168 titles covering many areas of England.

All are based on old picture postcard images (with the exception of three that use 1960s/70s photographs) and have 40 A5 size pages including soft cover.

The 50-75 postcards featured in each book normally come from collections that have taken many years to build up: some of the images are extremely rare. The books, with an introduction and background captions, provide local history, social history and nostalgia, but are aimed at all ages.

The first books in the series were published in 1990, while the latest, Northumberland Collieries, was published in 2018.


Yesterday’s Bedfordshire
Yesterday’s Cornwall
Yesterday’s Derbyshire
Yesterday’s Devon
Yesterday’s Dorset
Yesterday’s Durham
Yesterday’s Hampshire
Yesterday’s Industry
Yesterday’s Isle of Wight
Yesterday’s Lancashire
Yesterday’s Leicestershire
Yesterday’s Lincolnshire
Yesterday’s Northamptonshire
Yesterday’s Northumberland
Yesterday’s Nottinghamshire
Yesterday’s Railways
Yesterday’s Somerset
Yesterday’s Sport
Yesterday’s Staffordshire
Yesterday’s Sussex
Yesterday’s Warwickshire
Yesterday’s Worcestershire
Yesterday’s Yorkshire